I named my garden Bellehaven because I am gardener and my garden is my haven. I run to it when I feel the need to be creative, to relax, or to nurture something. My husband calls me a “termite” sometimes because we will be sitting on the porch and five seconds later, I’ll be out there weeding or digging stuff. I just love gardening!  Now I have some tips to share from my garden…

Any garden can use a pond, right? I have a small garden but I managed to finagle a little pond. I bought a little black basin, a bamboo water pump, gathered all the rocks I have been collecting from my walks around the neighborhood, dug up a hole a little deeper than the basin’s height, I arranged the rocks to hide the edge or lip of the basin, added plants around it to make it look more like it belongs in the garden… and there… I have a water element. The soothing sound of the pump is a wonderful addition!

Image

I love fresh salad so I always have them growing in a big pot. This is also good in a small garden or a porch.

Image

There are fairies in the bottom of my garden! I love them around the garden and here’s what I do with them–

I leaned a little fairy door that a friend gave me for my birthday next to the trunk of my old tree, added some moss that I scraped from another part of the garden, arranged my little fairies as if they are having a glorious day out in the sun… and this scene was a big hit among the tour-goers who had their cameras during one of the Salem Garden Club Tours!

Image

This scene below is also a big hit– I planted young herbs in a pot, arranged my fairies around some fairy garden furnitures ( I bought from Thompson’s Garden Center (they also sell this from catalogs) ) like they are having tea…

Image

We live by the sea and it’s always fun for me to look for boat-shaped containers. I usually put trailing plants in them like Bacopas and Ivy Geraniums.

Image

ImageImage

I also found a special corner to set up a “tea for two” scene…

Image

And those Halloween Treat Pots you find everywhere are good for mums in the Fall… that is exactly what I did with them.

ImageImageImage

I also added little whimsies around my garden, like little mushroom sculptures.

Image

So whatever your style of gardening is, make sure you make it fun and rewarding! Happy Gardening from Bellehaven!

Image