My Four Seasons Gardening Tips (New England)

WINTER
Every Winter, I read through my gardening books and plan ahead for the Spring. In a way, Winter is kind of a respite for a gardener like me, after all, gardening is limited indoors at this time of the year here in New England.
image

image

This is also a good time to take inventories of your plants jotting down what you need to do when you to start gardening again in the Spring.

For me, I take gardening indoors during this season. Here are some of my tips for fun indoor gardening.

Find a sunny location in the house and start deciding how you are going to finagle the plants you brought in from outside to fit that spot. An antique plant stand was perfect in the corner of the our living room for some of the plants. I also add some things to the plants that reminds me of the outside like birds and butterflies.

image

It is also great to use pots that are unique and colorful to brighten up a windowsill.
image

I have so much fun with these plants, adding little knick-knacks such as fairy furnitures and fairies enjoying tea-time. Below is a picture of my herb pot with my collection of fairies, miniature garden furnitures, gazebo and accessories. I always bring this pot in in the Winter and re-plant the overgrown herbs in bigger pots in the Spring replacing them with younger ones to match the scenery. I specially like creeping thyme, chives and Irish moss in this pot.

image

For extra special touches, I add nesting birds to some plants, recreating an outdoorsy ambiance to an otherwise boring corner.

image

I even add little rabbit sculptures in the pots. These little touches never seize to entertain my son, especially when he was younger (he’s now nine). As a gardener, I will never get tired of Beatrix Potter’s The Tales of Peter Rabbit or any fairy stories. For that reason, I am always on the look-out for little cutsie things associated with gardening.

image

image

image

The cold, dreary days doesn’t stop me from making our front steps looking like I haven’t stop gardening outside. I cut branches from my holly and yew shrubs, stick them in winterized containers and add festive decorations.

image

Even my garden sculptures are adorned with festive ribbons.

image

Also, if I am feeling ambitious, I save dried seed pods and branches and spray them gold or silver for nice addition to my holiday decorations.

SPRING
Spring is a season of rebirth in the garden. This is the time when perennial plants start sprouting and bulbs that we planted in the Fall display their radiant blooms. Everything seems so fresh and green. This is when I get so giddy and absolutely go wild about gardening! Around early April, all my flowering trees– Cherry, Crabapple and Dogwood trees, are in their full splendor.

image

image

image

image

Pansies are my choice of flowers for my containers in early Spring. It is because they are very resilient to the cold weather sometimes dropping to freezing point at night and also there’s not a lot of choices out there at this time of the year. I fill up my pots with them until I am ready to replace them with the Summer plants.

image

This is also the time when I bring out all my fountains and make sure the pumps are working great. For me, these water elements complete my garden.

image

image

image

SUMMER
Summer for me is more like using cruise control. As my plants reach their full potentials, I just keep up with watering them and their upkeep. There is not much to do in the garden at this time of the year and since I planted my plants close to one another, weeding is not really a problem for me as there are no more room for weeds to grow! This is the time when I relax and enjoy the garden.

imageimage

My son enjoys and appreciates the hardwork I do in creating a beautiful surrounding for him. I get him involve in gardening by asking him to do little things like watering or weeding. The garden is a wonderful place to let a kid’s imagination run wild– of fairies and rabbits and bees and flower people.

image

I also bring out my container pots that look like big teapots and kettles to add whimsy and color to our front steps.

image

FALL
Here in New England, October is the month of tidying-up the garden. By Halloween, the garden begins its steady regress towards dormancy. So this is the time I start cutting back perennial foliage; rake-up leaves and clean and oil garden tools. Mums, of course, are in abundance at this time of the year. I love combining mums with my Halloween decorations and pumpkins. This is also the time to plant Spring bulbs before the ground freezes.

image

image

After Fall comes Winter again… and the cycle of life continues. Happy gardening!